Beginnings

Tomato SeedlingThis is my favourite bit. The thing I love most about gardening. The first moment I spot that a seed I have planted is on its way, against all odds in this case. The seed is old – it should have been planted two years ago really, but we were too busy trying to move house then. The compost is most definitely not seed raising mix, it is just what was left in the bag at the end of last year.

On Sunday I planted 24 tomato seeds. Today nineteen little seedlings have poked up from the ground. I am already thinking of all the lovely tomatoes I will get to eat in the summer, and hopefully, all the tomatoes I will store for use in autumn and winter. They are Roma tomatoes, the same as I grew last year, so I know they will be delicious.

The thing I like least about gardening is heavy digging. I suspect I might be expanding my collection of big pots for growing tomatoes in.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beginnings

  1. Laura says:

    I can honestly tell you that working in a green house saves my sanity at this time of year. Green and growing makes such a difference!

Leave a Reply

