Unsuccessful Shopping

Today we were going to have Duck with Cherries, Roast Baby Vegetables and Spinach for dinner. Now I shop at Aldi most of the time so I was aware that this would mean a second shopping trip this week to get the rest of the stuff I couldn’t get on my normal shopping trip. The shopping list for today was:

  • Duck breasts (4)
  • Thyme
  • Spinach
  • Black cherries

Now the thyme was no problem, straight in the trolley. Black cherries? OK there were cherries and they looked darker than red, but not as dark as I expected black cherries to be (you can tell I’m not an expert!) so I put them in the trolley hoping they were the right thing. Spinach. The spinach was £1 for 140grams and I needed 300g. I almost gave up at that point: £2 for the spinach that will probably get left on 3 of the 5 plates. This is going to be an expensive meal, we said to each other, and we haven’t even got the duck yet. Must remember to plant spinach when I get that allotment…

We went off to the poultry aisle then. The only duck we could find was a complete bird. Disaster! I would have to buy two to get four breasts. £16! We trundled back round, putting everything back on the shelves.

Now I am going to defrost some sausages and it will be sausage and mash for dinner. Possibly with Roast Baby Vegetables. Or possibly with baked beans.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

