Novel Word Count

At the start of August I resolved to write 1000 words per day of my novel. So here is the reckoning. I should have 31,000 words by the end of today. I’m not being pedantic about this. I’m handwriting in notebooks, so I’m not going to do a proper wordcount until the whole thing is complete and I’m typing it onto the computer. I’m counting ‘about 3 pages’ as 1000 words. In dense text it will be a bit more, in a page long argument that goes ‘Yes’, ‘No’, ‘Yes’, ‘No’ it would be much less, so here goes:

August word count: 23,000

Total word count since I started it 4 years ago: 34,000

I started it on 27 September 2006, setting myself a target of completion of a first draft in one year. Obviously I didn’t manage that. Perhaps I’ll get it finished by 26th September 2010, and keep it within four years!

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

