Cake

I would have taken a photo, but it’s all gone. Its appearance wasn’t the best part, though.

As it was my turn to do teas and coffees at our local toddler group I had to supply a cake, so I got out my trusty Mary Berry book. Mary Berry never fails, someone told me before I bought the book, and so far that has been true. The other thing which is true is in the title of the book ‘Fast Cakes’. I decided to do a tray bake, so the instructions are: Put ingredients in bowl. Mix. Cook. Of course there are a few more words than that in the real instructions, but you get the idea.

I made the cake last night, and iced it this morning. I had meant to get up five minutes earlier than usual to give myself time, but that didn’t happen. First thing in the morning is not a good time for me. I need at least three quarters of an hour and a mug of coffee before I’m completely myself. As I fished about in the cupboard for the vanilla essence to flavour the icing I instead pulled out the lemon flavour. Serendipity. It was really lovely, hence is all gone with ne’er a photo taken.

Yum.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cake

  1. Amanda B says:

    I have a recipe for a chocolate cake like that and it is easily the best thing ever. I make it… ohhh… every chance I get!

Leave a Reply

