Shakespeare

I heard today that David Tennant and Catherine Tate are going to star in Much Ado About Nothing shortly.

A couple of years ago I wanted to go to see Hamlet in Stratford on Avon. Unfortunately, by the time we had got an agreement in principle for babysitting and I had gone online to book it, every show was sold out and I was left cursing my procrastination and their decision to cast The Doctor in an RSC show. I have a vague aim to see every Shakespeare play performed live, and it isn’t going too well. Two down so far.

I hear David Tennant made a good Hamlet, but I wouldn’t know. One thing I do think is that he and Catherine Tate will make a great Beatrice and Benedick. I can see it already – although I suspect I won’t get to see it in real life. London is a bit far to go for an evening out.

What is great, is that The Merchant of Venice is on in Stratford this year, and with the run being from May to October, I’m sure I’ll be able to get to see it. There’s also (as far as I know) no-one from Doctor Who in it to cause a massive early rush on ticket sales.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Plays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shakespeare

  1. Monica says:

    would it be shocking to read that I have never seen any Dr Who? I might have seen that particular Hamlet on TV… with DT. It was very good.

  2. planetcoops says:

    Very shocking! It’s a staple in our house, although apparently this last Christmas Special wasn’t scary enough.
    I think I recorded that Hamlet, but we record all our TV onto our computer, and a while ago had a disk failure and lost all the TV shows we had been meaning to watch :-(.

Leave a Reply

