Bran Muffins

I love bran muffins. Every so often I just have to make a batch. They’re sweet enough to be cakey and have enough bran to seem like a healthy option and I just like the taste. I’ve only ever seen a recipe for them in one book: Edmonds Cookery Book. I was going to put a link to Amazon here, but I found that in this country there are only 4 used copies available from £95.00. Wow. Turns out the most valuable thing in my living room is a spiral bound cookery book I was given for my 19th birthday (Thanks, Esther!).

So here’s how to make them:

1 cup plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups baking bran
1 Tbsp golden syrup
1 Tbsp butter
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup milk
1 egg

Pre-heat oven to 220C.
Grease your muffin tins, or use paper cases. This recipe is designed to make 12, but I prefer them a bit larger and make 9.
Sift the flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Mix in the sugar and bran. Melt the golden syrup and the butter together. Dissolve the baking soda in the milk. Add these with the egg to the dry ingredients. Mix quickly, just enough to combine. Spoon into the muffin tins.
Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown.

These are really quick and easy to make. Delicious.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Books, Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bran Muffins

  1. Heather Gillies says:

    LOVE the Edmond’s Bran Muffins! Mum used to make them all the time! 🙂

  2. Edmonds is awesome. It is the second best selling book in New Zealand after The Bible (and The Lords of the Rings, and Harry Potter and all that crap, so eleventh or something). You should all definitely get one so just send me 50.00 of your increasingly worthless English pounds and I’ll airfreight one to you. Half price or thereabouts.

  3. Laura says:

    Sometimes I would even throw some chunks of apple in there, and I’ve had them made with raisins, or banana or blueberry, too. Bran is available in every supermarket here, and Rogers is the standard brand; they even put a recipe for the muffins on the bag. I also checked my old church community cookbook, and there were no less than 7 different recipes for bran muffins! I guess I’ve been taking my bran for granted!

  4. Sue says:

    Thank you for posting this recipe, I had forgotten how delicious it was until I had some recently at my friends place. She is now living in Australia. I used to make them when I lived in the USA, but misplaced my recipe. The recipe has been taken worldwide by us kiwis. FYI: The Edmonds website does not even have this recipe now, the muffin recipes all use their muffin mix. (Our grandmothers are turning in their graves…)

  5. Linda Darnton says:

    OK Im a bit slow – only just read this but in the UK you can get the Edmonds cookbook on http://www.sanza.co.uk for £10.45 along with loads of other NZ, Aussie & South African goodies. Ive been buying NutMeat there!!

Leave a Reply

