World Book Night

I’m so excited! I’ve been picked as a World Book Night book giver away and today I went and picked up my 48 copies of Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez!

I registered months ago, despite almost giving up when the Terms and Conditions link in the bottom of their entry page navigated away from the page rather than opening in a new window, thus destroying my carefully crafted paragraphs about why I should get the books to give away and why I had chosen that book.

I love Marquez. Every book of his I read seems so original, so well peopled, and so evocative of time and place. I am so thrilled to have such a wonderful book to give away. When I got the email telling me I had been chosen I was like a kid dancing round the room, ‘They picked me! They picked me!’ Now I have a big box of books, waiting until Saturday when I can start to distribute them.

I think I should have been a librarian.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to World Book Night

  1. Monica says:

    that is exciting!!

    I had to abandon the whole thing because today is such a full day from dusk till dawn I wouldn’t have been able to do anything… what a shame… Good for you though. I love Marquez too but I chose ‘beloved’. That book made such an impression on me.

    Have fun… where are you giving your books away?

Leave a Reply

