Frost Damage and Gardening

I had a beautiful, huge shrub in the back garden. I’m not sure what it was, but the flowers were like a Mahonia or a Bottle Brush plant. I was waiting for it to spring back to life once the weather got warmer, but it didn’t.

When I laid the ground cover last year, I didn’t go underneath this plant, because it was so dense it would have been really hard to get in there. It’s such a shame when a plant like this dies. It’s also odd to just lose one plant – everything else is fine, even the ones we knew weren’t frost hardy. Anyway, we needed to get it out, so half an hour after this photo was taken, I got it to this stage:

After this, I left it for Mr Planetcoops and his power tools. I’m a bit of a luddite when it comes to gardening, so anything requiring power tools gets left to him. He got straight onto it as soon as he could.

So now we have a big empty space (not counting the weeds) and we’ll have to look for something to fill it. I keep saying this, but we are slowly getting everything under control, one step at a time.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frost Damage and Gardening

  1. Monica says:

    …. gardening is not my thing! when given the choice of a gardener or a cleaner I went for the former….

    ….

Leave a Reply

