I Vote for Chickens!

Well, I hope all those of you who could got out and voted yesterday. I was quite surprised to be in the queue behind someone who wanted to vote for their local councillor, but didn’t want to vote on the AV referendum. To be bothered enough about local politics to vote (here it was a choice between the Conservative who has been in for a while or someone I’d never heard of from no party I’d ever heard of), and not to care how central government is elected seems a bit strange.

In other news, we finally got our Eglu listed on eBay. Goodness knows why it has taken us this long. The patch of ground the chickens had raked bare is now lush green grass. The Eglu has been scrubbed, photographed and dismantled, waiting for a lucky person to win the auction. The chickens are happily scrabbling round someone else’s garden, and it turns out they quite like to eat ground elder roots. That’s something I never discovered – and I have a separate compost heap just for ground elder. I still forget to put eggs on the shopping list.

Isn’t it lovely?

Look into my eyes, look into my eyes, the eyes, the eyes, not around the eyes, don’t look around the eyes, look into my eyes. You’re under! You want a purple Eglu Cube.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Chickens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Vote for Chickens!

  1. Laura says:

    We had chickens on the farm when I was growing up, but they were strictly for meat at the end of the season. Grandpa would bring in hundreds and hundreds of tiny yellow chicks, and the noise from those little peepers was amazing.

Leave a Reply

