Odds and Ends

We had vol-au-vents for dinner tonight. You can tell we’ve reached the bottom of our freezer! For some reason we had 114 frozen vol-au-vent cases in there. Today I cooked the 60 which had a best before of Dec 09 (they were fine). We had a lovely variety of fillings – the best for me was egg mayonnaise. My mother in law makes wonderful egg mayonnaise vol-au-vents, and for years I had planned to make some too, but have only got as far as buying the vol-au-vent cases. Now, mission accomplished. We also had cream cheese and cherry tomato, and garlic and herb cream cheese and smoked salmon. I really enjoyed this dinner – it felt just like having a little party.

Tomorrow we’re having soup for lunch, then some Linda McCartney pies for Sunday lunch, and then I hope we can retire our chest freezer.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Odds and Ends

  1. Is Linda McCartney in your freezer as well? I’d say she was well past her best before date.

  2. Monica says:

    This made me laugh… I so need to empty my freezer too…

    My family won’t know what hit them…

Leave a Reply

