Books, Books and More Books

Today has been a good day. I turned the first bit of soil on my new allotment, and that was going to be my post for today, but more about that tomorrow. My happiness in that was superceded by the package waiting for me when I got home.

The package contained 50 books.

Not all are for me, I hasten to add. Most are for Mr 3. I was watching a collection of 18 of the Oxford Reading Tree Songbirds Phonics books on eBay, and as the bids crept to £8.50 I thought I had better check what I could get them for elsewhere before placing my own bid, so off I Googled. I discovered that the RRP for the full set of 36 books is £128.82. I also discovered that The Book People were selling the set for £15. How could I not buy it?

Once on that website, of course I had to have a look around. The next thing that caught my eye was a set of ten Gabriel Garcia Marquez books for £9.99. I have already read two of them, but I’d have paid that even for the other eight, so into the trolley it went. I love his writing. He takes you into his stories within the first half page, and for creating character and setting, I can’t think of anyone better.

Then for the girls I put in a set of four Worst Witch books. I loved those when I was a kid, and the girls have been enjoying the TV series. Miss 7 has, since getting home after school at 4.30, already finished the first book and is half way through the second.

I have recently been very self controlled about books. I hadn’t bought any for months, so it is a real thrill for me to suddenly have a huge purchasing spree (I feel I can’t call it a spending spree, because they were all so cheap!). I had another book arrive from Amazon as well. It was Baudolino by Umberto Eco, and I already love it, even without starting to read it. I love the cover. The very feel of it is lovely. It is an absolute pleasure to hold. I’m sure it will be just as much pleasure to read.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Books, Books and More Books

  1. Amanda B says:

    LOL. OK – so the book buying is a family thing. Got it!

  2. I can’t imagine anything lovelier than a package of 50 books. Except, maybe, having the time to read them.

Leave a Reply

