Allotment Update

Firstly, I apologise for the lack of a photo. Yesterday I forgot to take my camera to the allotment. I had my list, and took everything on the list, but had forgotten to write down ‘camera’. Today I remembered to take the camera, but when I tried to turn it on – nothing. The battery was completely dead. I did take some photos on my phone, but I’m not quite sure where I’ve put the USB cable. It’s not something I use very often.

Back to my allotment! All the other allotments are 20m x 12.5m. Mine is the one on the end, and because the plot wasn’t ploughed completely rectangularly, mine is 20m long, but one end is 10m wide, the other is 15m. I quite like being a bit different to everyone else!

I got there yesterday morning, after dropping Mr 3 off at pre-school. I marked out my beds and started digging. The people on the next two plots along were also there, getting started on their allotments. They are also pre-school mums taking advantage of the 3 child free hours we get. It makes such a difference having other people around. Gardening has always been quite a solitary pursuit, and that was the part of allotment life I was really looking forward to. It’s so nice to be able to stop for a chat and a flask of coffee together.

Today I got the first plants in. My allotment now boasts 22 cucumber plants, a rhubarb, and a blackcurrant bush. I have also put in some lettuce seeds and some pumpkin seeds, and now I’m hoping for rain because there isn’t a water supply in yet.

I have plans for some potatoes (although I’d better hurry up as it’s getting a bit late in the year), and asparagus (no idea when that has to go in – I’ll have to look it up), cauliflowers (Mr Planetcoops loves them), sweetcorn (bought two days ago, and now about 3cm tall. When I tried to grow some from seed, not one germinated), and butternut squash (we’ve got one to have for sunday dinner, and I’ll keep the seeds). That will bring my allotment to about 1/3 full, so it should keep me occupied for the next few weeks!

Now I think I just need a long, hot bath.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Allotment Update

  1. Laura says:

    I can’t wait for the rototiller to attack ours! However, we’ll have to wait (again) for it to dry out…

Leave a Reply

