Staycation: Labels and Worcester

Today we had six hours WITHOUT THE KIDS. It is very rare for us to have any time WITHOUT THE KIDS, so it was a true luxury. I haven’t had that long WITHOUT THE KIDS for nearly four years. I think the last time was 15 October 2007, the day before Mr 3 was born, so thank you, C, J and M, the kids enjoyed the day with their aunt, uncle and cousin, and Mr PC and I enjoyed the day without them.

First we went to Labels, which is an outlet shop right at the end of the M50, at Ross-on-Wye. There, something amazing happened. I saw a pair of shoes I loved. This is rarer than you might think. Fashion and my feet don’t often meet. Then I checked (because I have been disappointed before) and they had my size. Normally I have the right size curse. Often if we are shopping and my child needs a size 3, say, the shelf contains a 1 and a 2, then a 4 and a 5. I used to get really annoyed about this, now I sigh and accept it as an integral part of my life. Anyhow, back to the shoes. I tried them on, and they fitted. This is also rarer than you might think. My feet are obviously not standard. Perhaps this will mean more to you if I tell you that I once wore the same pair of Kickers for 3 years straight, until they literally fell apart. They were a replacement for an identical pair of Kickers that had previously been worn to death. A couple of years ago I wrote a 100 things list. That’s 100 things to do in the next 1000 days. On that list I have ‘Buy a pair of shoes I love’. Two years in, I can tick it off!

After Labels, we went on to Worcester. It’s been a long time since we’ve been there. About 15 years ago, Mr PC took me to Worcester and we walked along the riverside and looked at the cathedral. We drive round the ring road every time we go to visit my in-laws, but we have never been back to the city centre. Today we rectified that, and had a couple of hours wandering round the shops. I was delighted to see some of the floaty prints giving way to some much more structured 60’s style clothing in some of the shops.

I have decided I really like Worcester. Our normal shopping centre is Hereford, and Worcester beats it by a mile. I don’t think I’ll be leaving it 15 years before going back.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Staycation: Labels and Worcester

  1. Sue says:

    Hooray for Worcester! It is pretty good for shopping isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

