Spaghetti Squash

Inspired by Silverpebble, and her Making Winter blog posts, I went out to the allotment this morning, and this is what I harvested:

At the bottom of that tub is my spaghetti squash. I brought it home.

I cut it in half,

scooped the seeds out (they’ve been kept to plant next year), rubbed olive oil over the squash halves and sprinkled them with salt and pepper.

Then they went into the oven, face down, at 200 degrees for 35 minutes.

Once cooked, I scraped out the spaghetti-like strands into a bowl, and we ate them with our dinner.

It was delicious, and now I’m wondering why I had never heard of it until a year ago, and never tasted it until today.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Allotment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spaghetti Squash

  1. Ali says:

    I really like them too, but had not considered growing them – they seemed to exotic for the garden! But presumably, they’re just like any other squash.

  2. Hello – hopping over from Silverpebble. I love spaghetti squash and your post reminded me that I haven’t cooked any for a very long time! Thanks for the suggestion. How nice to eat some you’ve grown yourself.

Leave a Reply

