Happy New Year!

Happy New Year! First, a glimpse backwards.

Additions to my collection in 2011:There might be more – this was a grab what I can see on the bookshelf moment. I am not the worst offender in my family in the acquisition of books stakes. This is possibly more due to my trying to be frugal this year, rather than any lack of desire to purchase. Yes, this was a frugal year. I could easily have bought twice that many, and some were free, some birthday gifts, most very cheap, and none RRP. My total spend was about £72, which you have to agree, is quite good for that little pile.

If I were to design my own house, a library would be a vital component. As it is, I ask Mr PC for bookshelves in the same way that Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire used to ask her husband for money to pay her gambling debts: Too little, too late, and it would take another mortgage to sort out the problem completely.

On, now, to looking forward. I have decided to set myself some monthly challenges. This will give a bit more variety and interest than the usual eat better, exercise more resolutions that are so common. I might even do some of them!

My challenges for January:

  1. Finish a subject of my accounting qualification (one of six subjects I need to get my level 4 qualification).
  2. Complete another pair of socks.
  3. Write 5000 words of my novel.
  4. Get the house back to a clean and tidy enough for a viewing state (actually, this one is suddenly urgent; we have a viewing next weekend).
  5. Clear out one box from the attic.

I’ll report back to let you know how I’ve done.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Monica says:

    Happy New Year Amanda!

    Good luck with everything: the studying… the viewing (fingers crossed) and the novel… (do tell more!!)

  2. “I am not the worst offender in my family in the acquisition of books stakes.”
    By “worst offender” I assume you mean “most successful” 🙂

    • planetcoops says:

      You’re an inspiration!
      I notice one book on there I also own (not counting the Roald Dahl (and is that cheating? I only included books for me (or are you a secret Dahl fan?))). :59 Seconds. What did you think? Has it changed your life?

      • I’ve only really flicked through 59 Seconds so I can’t say it’s had any impact. I also don’t expect any book to change my life – perhaps some incremental improvements are possible. Best personal development book of the year for me was Willpower by Roy Baumeister.
        I didn’t include anything I bought specifically for the kids but I included Roald Dahl because I have read or will read some of them myself. The Greek Myths book is in the same category.

      • P.S. You obviously still want to be a programmer – with your correctly balanced parentheses 🙂

  3. Oh, I share so many of those same aspirations!! Possessing books is certainly my one real addiction; a house library better than winning the lottery and attempting the clear out of attic boxes an ambition that rates alongside anyone trying to climb Everest!!! “if at first you don’t succeed”…………….yes, indeedy!!!!!

  4. Alice C says:

    Happy New Year and may your resolutions be successful – I admire anyone who has 5 resolutions for January alone

    I am not sure who is the worst offender in our family – MrM claims that I am but he buys many more books but cheaper because they are all secondhand. MissM claims immunity because she needs them for her studies but I don’t know where Terry Pratchett fits into the reading list for “Renaissance Literature”,

Leave a Reply

