Partying All Night Long

…or at least as late as I can get without turning into a pumpkin.

I know this post is a few days late, but hey, better late than never, right? On Saturday I went to a party. That is big news for us. Our days of going out drinking and dancing seem a distant memory.

I had the opportunity to dress up. This is something I love to do. It is one of the reasons I look forward to going back to work, too. I will have a reason to buy presentable clothes. Anyway, I pulled from the back of the wardrobe a dress I last wore two and a half years ago. This is how I can tell when I last dressed up for a night out! I can tell that in the last two and a half years I must have got ever so slightly slimmer. I wore my spanx-Bridget-Jones-eat-your-heart-out pants, but this time they were an enhancement rather than a necessity to fit into the dress.

Perhaps this is due to my increased chocolate consumption. I never used to set foot in the confectionery aisle in the supermarket, but now I shop at Aldi I have to walk past the chocolate to get to the toothpaste (genius positioning), and I usually put a pack of chocolate in the trolley as I pass. A study I read about today, has shown that people who eat chocolate regularly tend to be slimmer. And they say they never publish good news!

Back to Saturday, with grandparents in attendance to babysit, and me in a minor panic, because going out with just a tiny bag big, not large enough for baby wipes, spare toddler pants, notepad and pens, snacks and the detritus of daily life, made me feel like I had forgotten something.

The party was at the Hereford Rowing Club. It’s not somewhere I would have thought of for a party, but the upstairs made a great venue. It was beautifully decorated, and the location is fantastic with a big balcony overlooking the river. That would be lovely on a hot summer evening.

The best bit was the dancing. Crafty Kitchen had hired a dance instructor to come along for an hour. We learnt to cha-cha-cha! At first we learnt it all separately – a bit like line dancing, and we all got a bit of a routine going. I think I managed to keep up with most of the steps, but I am not gifted in the dancing line, and I’m sure that while I was concentrating so hard on where my feet were supposed to be, the rest of me must have looked rather wooden.

The next step was dancing with a partner. At this stage most of the men (even those who had participated so far) seemed to melt away. A few were coerced back, and we tried out the cha-cha-cha with a partner, then moved on to the rumba. It was all great fun, but I won’t be entering any ballroom dancing competitions any time soon!

Happy Birthday, Crafty Kitchen. Thanks for a great party!

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Partying All Night Long

  1. crafty kitchen says:

    You are very welcome and as my daughter put it you looked so pretty.

Leave a Reply

