Doing FlyLady Extreme

In May I am going to try to do everything Flylady tells me to! Before those of you in the know say No! No! No! Babysteps, remember! I should say that I have been Flying for two years now. I have gradually acquired habits, so in theory, FlyLady Extreme should be very similar to my normal life. We also spent a long time decluttering, and the clutter we have left is all in the loft or tucked away in cupboards. It’s a lot less daunting than it would have been two years ago!

It is quite useful to think of all the things I do now, that regularly got neglected before.

I

  • make the bed every day
  • swish and swipe the bathrooms (all three toilets!) every day
  • do a load of washing a day
  • set off the dishwasher every evening and empty it first thing, so dirty dishes can go in it rather than on the worktop
  • do a home blessing hour (go on, look it up!) once a week
  • plan menus for the week
  • moisturise
  • write all appointments and meetings on the calendar

Can you imagine what my house was like? I dreaded unexpected visitors. I cleaned for days before guests came to stay. I so looked forward to going back to work so I would be able to pay a cleaner. Now, I don’t need a cleaner.

Things I still don’t do, or did for a while, but didn’t get a habit embedded:

Lay out tomorrow’s clothes: This is one thing I’m not going to do. I’ve never been the sort to take hours deciding what to wear. 12 seconds is closer to reality, so I think I don’t need to have this habit.

Drink enough water: Sadly, I just don’t like the taste. I’m aiming for 1 litre a day, rather than the 2 I should drink.

Declutter for 15 minutes a day: Once the visible clutter was sorted out, this got abandoned. I’ll have to start on the hidden stuff now.

Exercise for 15 minutes a day: I’m sort of half way there on this one, but there’s a bit more effort required.

Do Kelly’s tasks: I did these for a long time, then changed my email system, so all my Flylady emails get moved to their own folder and marked as read. This meant I never went in to read them, and stopped doing the tasks.

So this May, I will try to pick up all the bits I haven’t been doing, and I don’t think that’s too big an ask. Hopefully by June, there’ll be a lot less hidden junk here! Wish me luck.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in House and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doing FlyLady Extreme

  1. Laura says:

    I finally went onto the Flylady website, and the only thing I could manage to do for right now is the “hot spots,” but it was nice to have a goal, however small!

Leave a Reply

