Tons of Copper

Sometimes I love being PTFA treasurer! You might remember that just before half term we made a picture out of coins on the school playground. I got to bring them home and count them, and this week I took them to the bank. I did feel a bit sorry for the bank teller, who had to disappear out the back, bringing back bags stamped with ‘£20 in 2p pieces’. The poor chap is normally quite cheerful, but he didn’t smile until he’d finished all the weighing and was saying goodbye.

Do you remember The Young Ones? The episode in which they plan a bank robbery. Neil says that whichever queue he chooses he’ll be behind the man from the penny arcade cashing up for the entire year. I was just thinking about this, when the person behind me, looking askance at the bags I had barely managed to carry through the door (I didn’t need a wheelbarrow!), asked if I minded them going first as they only had one cheque to pay in. I let her go ahead.

Well, my duties are almost over. I will be handing over the spreadsheet before we move away. I just think it would be lovely if I could spend the rest of my life picking the bits I enjoy; a bit of crochet, a bit of banking, a bit of reading bedtime stories and a bit of cake baking. I love being a stay at home mum!

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tons of Copper

  1. Laura says:

    It’s the best, being a stay-at-home mom! I miss it, and I’ve always felt that way. I love my work friendships, though, and being good at a job. It is very stressful this time of year, trying to “do it all.”
    Congratulations on the house sale!

  2. crafty kitchen says:

    I wish that too all this grown up stuff keeps getting in the way.

Leave a Reply

