Forty Thousand

Look!

See that? Word count 40,000! (conveniently on a page which reveals nothing!)

I am exactly in line with the NaNoWriMo target. This is officially the longest thing I have ever written, longer than the previous unfinished novel which reached about 36000 (handwritten so I don’t have an official word count). The best bit? It still isn’t finished! I actually have enough story in my head to get to the 50,000 target, which I think means I have officially overcome the conciseness which dogged my school career.

Actually, I think I have been quite concise so far. There are lots of bits which are just dialogue and whole sub-plots which have barely had a mention. When I go back over this after November is over, I expect I’ll extend it significantly, filling in lots of blanks and providing lots of background.

Now I just have 10,000 words to write, and six days in which to write them.

 

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Forty Thousand

  1. Wow. I’m impressed. I know a lady who wrote a manuscript and I was just so impressed that she finished it, good or bad it’s a big achievement. And, an early congrats to you making your goal.

Leave a Reply

