Happiness, Month 1

So a month ago, I did the happiness survey and scored 4.2. Today I scored 4.6. That really surprised me. If you had asked me if I was happier than I was a month ago, I’d have said no, not really.

I know I’ve been trying the theory out. Setting goals was January’s experiment. I don’t deny that setting and achieving goals makes me happy. Having those goals derailed, albeit only in the short term, does not make me happy. I suspect that the impact of doing the happiness survey with bright sunlight streaming through the windows should not be underestimated.

On the other hand, I do have another goal. It’s not one I’ve ever stated out loud, or even given a great deal of thought to, but I have always aimed to read a book a week. This month I have read five books. That means I’m on target!

I also have a book, as yet unread. Have you ever been so keen to start a book, that you’re excited about opening it? Looking forward to sitting back with the book in hand, with time to get absorbed, knowing you’re in the hands of a master storyteller? Read the blurb, and known the story is just the sort you love?

I have ‘The Mysterious Flame of Queen Loana’ by Umberto Eco. This is a good start for February, because February’s happiness experiment is finding flow. Reading achieves that for me, and I aim to find other things to absorb my attention enough to achieve flow, that state where time flies by unnoticed.

Here’s hoping for an even happier February!

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happiness, Month 1

  1. Laura says:

    I seem to be a month behind you…I’ve set a bunch of goals for February!

Leave a Reply

