It’s Easter!

And so, the dreaded end of term Easter bonnet competition is over. I do not have a gift for bonnet making. Mostly now I have given up, and my poor children have to manage by themselves. Mr 5, bless his little heart, went to school yesterday in the naive belief that his wonderful concoction would win the first prize. That delight is reserved for children with parents who have more talent, imagination and willingness to help than I. I think it’s a valuable life lesson. Everyone has to get used to some kind of disappointment.

Now it is officially the holidays, and to celebrate I cooked another new thing. Hot cross buns! I did try to photograph them, but the pictures were more abysmal than usual, even with all available light sources. Mr 5 has banned me from borrowing his camera, so I’m stuck with my rubbish one. I must get that sorted out some time, but the new camera I want is equivalent to 2% of a conservatory, and I really want a conservatory.

You’ll just have to believe me when I tell you they had crosses on them and sugar glazing and everything. They taste great. I’ll have to make them again, perhaps just as spiced buns without crosses on.

My girls celebrated the start of the holidays by arguing over which TV channel to watch and complaining of boredom. There’s been no bead making or model painting in this household. Nothing mind expanding, nothing energetic, nothing artistic. I’m going to have to think up some things to do over the next couple of weeks.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Easter!

  1. Deb Weaver says:

    We think Wednesday would be a good day for spiced buns xx

  2. Passive slimmer says:

    Yes, I agree Wednesday is definitely a good day for uncrossed spiced buns! X

  3. Laura says:

    I would have loved a photo of the Easter bonnet! That’s not a tradition here, and I wonder what my kids would have come up with, given the chance. I’m not crafty that way, either, but we have a big craft box for such occasions. I usually get them to draw a picture of what they are making, so I know the artistic vision that I will be called upon to assist with!
    Next year…beautiful, yummy hot cross buns in the new conservatory?

Leave a Reply

