My Oldest UFO

Is now finished.

Patchwork BedspreadEvery stitch of this patchwork bedspread was hand sewn by me. I am so pleased to have finished it. It has taken more than twenty years to complete. Take a good look. I will never be making another one.

BedspreadThe above picture was taken a few months ago while I was pinning it to the backing. For a long while one corner of our living room became a high pin risk area, because this was shedding pins every time it was moved. Now we can walk barefoot safely again.

Patchwork

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Oldest UFO

  1. eclecticlamb says:

    Congratulations on completing this! It is beautiful!

  2. Karen says:

    Love seeing it finished. I remember the piles of hexagons way back then. It looks fantastic! Who is the lucky recipient?

  3. Rebecca Bissell says:

    You never cease to amaze me! It brilliant. x

  4. Monica says:

    oh wow… it’s huge!! and totally gorgeous! did you quilt it by hand too?

    • planetcoops says:

      It’s not quilted – I just stitched the patchwork onto a valance round the edges. A combination of terror at the size of the project and doubt of my ability, meant that my brief consideration of whether to quilt it properly was very brief and very decisive.

  5. Laura says:

    I wish I had such grand plans 20 years ago! I bet saying “done” feels as fabulous as the quilt looks!

  6. Deb Weaver says:

    wow wow
    on another note have you taken your cardigan off yet?!?!?

Leave a Reply

