The Hunger Games

Miss 12 got The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins out of the school library. She then read Catching Fire and Mockingjay in quick succession. We went out on Tuesday and she bought her own copies of the first two (she had a £10 voucher, which didn’t stretch to the third). She then spent the next 24 hours pestering me to read them.

So, yesterday evening and this morning I have read The Hunger Games. It really is very good. I always measure a book on how much I just want to continue reading it whilst neglecting what I should be doing, and this ticks the Excellent box. I am determined not to start Catching Fire yet because I have an exam tomorrow, and I would hate to be late for it because I had to finish the book!

Now Miss 12 wants to see the film. It doesn’t seem to bother her, but it does bother me, that it might be a bit gory. I have no idea. In the good old days I’d have watched a trailer and been able to figure out whether or not it would be fine for my kids. Now they’re getting a bit older, and knowing that if we get the DVD and Miss 12 watches it, Miss 10 will too, I’m not sure.

Has anyone seen it? How violent and gruesome is it? I know it’s rated 12A, but you can get away with quite a lot within that rating. Would you let a ten year old watch it? Goodness, what first world problems and dilemmas I face! Having just come back from Panem, I’m very aware of that!

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Hunger Games

  1. Rebecca Bissell says:

    Yes we’ve seen it. Boys loved it…but I felt it a bit gruesome to be honest. Depending on the child I think 10 is too young for it. Its a bit scary in places too and I thought 12A was stretching it a bit for me a 15 more like. Is there a online trailer?? Bx

  2. Debbie says:

    Great book isnt it although not easy to explain to others. I had very same dilemma and was dicussing with sister, she said it is gory but no more scary than Dr Who. Becky has seen it so she may have a better idea.

  3. planetcoops says:

    Hmm. The trailer is all what must be the first quarter of the film; all the set up, none of the actual games. Perhaps I need to say we will only watch the film once Miss 10 has read the book. That should give a year or two’s grace.

  4. Laura says:

    My 16 year old (who has seen it) says that there were scary parts that she couldn’t watch. Even though she gets “grossed out” pretty easily, she still says she wouldn’t recommend it to anyone under 12…Dr. Who may have scary scenes, but not gory ones.

Leave a Reply

