New Year Pavlova

Woohoo! Happy New Year and all that. I know I’m a day late, but better late than never.

For New Year this year I made a pavlova!

PavlovaI have always been a bit nervous of making meringues. I don’t like recipes that need eggs to be whisked until they are the right consistency, but I decided to be brave! Between Christmas and New Year I bought myself a food mixer. It is like a Kitchen Aid, but much cheaper. It is even that gorgeous red colour, to match absolutely nothing else in our kitchen. I love it!

My gorgeous new food mixer has a balloon whisk. My recipe book (The Edmonds cookery book, a New Zealand staple) said whisk for ten minutes, which is a style of instruction I much prefer to being told to whisk until it looks about right. I had a moment of panic when I realised I had no white vinegar in the house, but then I checked a Mary Berry recipe, and she used white wine vinegar, which I did have. I very carefully did everything I was told, including leaving the oven door ajar slightly while the pavlova cooled down.

And look! It worked! I am so impressed. I have seen a couple of disastrous pavlovas. I also have aunts and cousins who make fantastic pavlovas, so between these two extremes I was never sure where any attempt of mine might fall. I was so excited when I produced one which I am not ashamed to show off. A bit of crunch on the outside, soft marshmallowy meringue inside. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

It was a quite delightful start to the year. I learned something new, I made something new and I ate something delicious. Perfect.

 

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Year Pavlova

  1. just Gai says:

    Crisp on the outside, squidgy on the inside. Just how I like my meringues. But it’s invariably my husband who makes them in our house!

  2. Karen says:

    It’s taken you this long? We tried egg-free meringues this year, I was surprised at how well they turned out. Unfortunately Zafira refused to even try them so I may not bother again, they are a little more time consuming than Pavlova.

  3. Laura says:

    That’s lovely! I have been wanting to make one for a very long time, but I still don’t have the nerve. Happy New Year, I hope it is a very good one!

  4. Vera says:

    Happy New Year. What a great start. The pav looks magnificent!!

Leave a Reply

