Celebrations

Shall we flit from celebration to celebration? The last post here was at Halloween and now it is nearly Christmas. Well, what have we been doing in that time? Quite a lot and not much are two equally valid answers.

What we have had a lot of recently is pre Christmas events. Firstly, eating. I went to my first work Christmas do ever. It has just struck me that I have never, ever been out for an official work Christmas event before. I can’t quite believe it now I think about it. Surely I must have been to one at some point in that ancient history that was BC (Before Children)? But no, I’m sure not. However, back to the present (or at least very recent past).

All of us from work went out last week to Cheltenham, where we ate at Monty’s Brasserie in The George Hotel. I know nothing much of Cheltenham, considering how near we live. It’s only just over half an hour away, but I can count on my hands the number of times I’ve been there, and count on my thumbs the number of times I’ve driven there myself. The one thing that did disappoint me last week was that they’ve closed the one car park I knew how to get to. Luckily, Mr PC had planned ahead, and handed me the sat-nav with postcodes of other car parks programmed in. I am so lucky having such an organised, considerate husband!

The food, though! The food! I had a crispy duck starter which was sublime, a turbot main which was delicious, and a salted caramel desert which was heavenly, but I only managed half as I was so full of duck and turbot. Mmm. So nice to eat food we would never have at home, and actually do something social. It was a lovely evening, and also nice to see a different side of everyone I work with.

I did leave a bit earlier than most, and was home by midnight. I don’t really do late nights very well, being seriously out of practise. I could have stayed out all night and crept to a hotel at 4am, but decided not to. My own bed is lovely! But you know what? I’m already looking forward to next year.

The next thing we have been doing a lot of recently is singing. But more on that later.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

