Couch to 5k (Again)

I am desperately unfit. I was never fit, but then I went to work full time three years ago, and the reasonable amount of exercise I used to do on school runs and gardening and walking into town now and again melted away to be replaced by sitting at a desk for 8 hours. It felt bad. I could feel myself getting more lethargic, and less inclined to do things when I had the opportunity. So, change is needed, I thought.

I remembered that about five years I had started on the C25K running plan, and it had seemed to be a good scheme to start in a small way. You can read about the first try here.

I didn’t get on very far beyond that post last time. The difficulty of fitting in the running when I didn’t have a four year old in hand was just too much, and combined with the genius of starting in mid winter – well. Suffice to say I had no idea how the running programme progressed beyond week two.

So recently, determination refreshed, I downloaded the app, and Mr PC and I embarked on our own fitness crusade.We started it again a few weeks ago. I was absolutely shocked at how badly I started! I barely ran for 3 and a half of the 8 one minute runs. It was appallingly, terrifyingly bad. I could not believe that I had let myself get to that level of unfitness. It took me three weeks until I could complete the week one runs.

For this scheme, you are supposed to run 3 times a week, gradually increasing the run:walk ratio until you can run for half an hour. And it should take 9 weeks overall. I suspect I might take a bit longer!

Week two was not quite as bad. It only took four runs instead of the planned three to feel like I could move on. Week three we have completed in the allotted time,  so I am quite chuffed about that. Now I am dreading week four.

This is when the runs begin to get longer. Up until now I have been able to prod myself onwards by thinking things like ‘only 20 more breaths until I can walk…19 …18’. I don’t think this will work on a 5 minute run, and I am going to have to find some way to distract myself while I’m running so I stop thinking about every step. Perhaps I should find myself some lively music to listen to.

I am determined to get there this time, though. I have one thing that I didn’t have last time, and that is someone else alongside me, doing the same thing. And even though he is fitter than me, and could race through the programme much faster, Mr PC slows himself down to stay alongside, and we keep an eye on each other and we will make sure that we both make it all the way to 5k.

About planetcoops

Living a busy family life in a beautiful place with a hundred and one things to be achieved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Couch to 5k (Again)

  1. Laura says:

    I think that’s amazing, doing a workout together. Once upon a time, I did a 4 km jog with one of my girls. (Once, and once upon a time!) I do prefer cycling for fitness, though.

  2. Just James says:

    I am on week 4 of Couch to 5k. Really feeling the difference

Leave a Reply

